Skip to main content
Page load in progress

Temporary entry restrictions

The Government has placed temporary entry restrictions into New Zealand to assist with the containment of COVID-19.

Entry Restrictions

The Government has announced further border measures restricting entry to New Zealand. Only New Zealand residents and citizens (and their children and partners) are permitted to enter New Zealand. 

This includes the Realm countries (the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau), Australian citizens and permanent residents ordinarily resident in New Zealand, airline and marine crew.

There will be some exceptions, on a case by case basis, for example for essential health workers, humanitarian reasons, and others (critical purpose).

Concessionary entry of goods update Critical Purpose Visitors Visa 

If a the person holds a Critical Purposes Visitors Visa, which allows work for 12 months or more then this will be determined to be a “document authorising residence in New Zealand” for the purpose of concessionary entry under Reference 80.

For more information please refer to either the Immigration NZ website or the Ministry of Health website.