Skip to main content
Page load in progress

Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP)

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is a trade agreement that includes the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), as well as Australia, China, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand.

RCEP came into force on 1 January 2022  for Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Japan, Laos PRD, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. Subsequently South Korea has come into force from 1 February 2022, Malaysia from 18 March 2022, and for the Philippines 6 June 2023.

The other parties who are still undertaking their domestic ratification process are Indonesia and Myanmar.

An NZ importer may make a claim for preferential tariff treatment using one of the three different types of proof of origin:

  • a Certificate of Origin issued by an issuing body;
  • a Declaration of Origin by an approved exporter; or
  • a Declaration of Origin by an exporter or producer.

The product specific rules and negotiated rates can be found on MFAT's website. More information can be found on Information about the Rules of Origin.

Product Specific Rules

Product Specific Rules for Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership—Annex 3A (Product Specific Rules) 2022 as certified on 4 October 2022 (PDF 3 MB)