Skip to main content
Page load in progress

International recognition

How the Secure Exports Scheme achieves international recognition.

The Secure Exports Scheme is recognised as meeting international supply-chain security standards set by the World Customs Organization. It achieves international recognition through Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRAs) between customs administrations of different countries and economies with similar supply chain security standards.

In the countries we have MRAs with, goods from New Zealand's SES partners are seen as a low security risk and can receive fast-tracked customs processing through their borders.

Customs currently has MRAs with:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • the Republic of Korea
  • Singapore
  • the United States of America
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • the United Kingdom.

SES exporters are 3.5 times less likely than other traders to have their goods examined for security purposes by United States Customs and Border Protection, and seven times less likely to be examined when entering China.

Expanding MRAs

Customs is working on MRAs with additional countries to benefit more exporters. Thailand was added in May 2023, and further MRAs are in progress.  

Customs arranges new MRAs by assessing the AEO scheme of the other country, what their security standards are, and how their scheme operates.

If their security standards are generally on the same level as ours, we agree to work together collaboratively to create an MRA.

This means that countries with MRAs are working together to have similar security standards and a more secure supply chain. 

When a new MRA is signed 

When an MRA is signed with a new country, Customs works to finalise how our SES partners will get the facilitation benefits. We will notify our partners of the changes and the specific details needed to get those benefits.